Foods Containing Gluten






This is a list of foods containing gluten:

  • Wheat
  • Rye
  • Barley
  • Spelt
  • Oats (you can find gluten free oats)
  • Bulgur
  • Couscous
  • Farro
  • Farina
  • Bran
  • Groats
  • Graham flour
  • Unbleached flour
  • Whole-wheat flour
  • Enriched flour
  • Wheat germ
  • Kamut
  • Malt or anything malted
  • Semolina
  • Wheat protein

The following generally contain gluten:

  • Bread, buns, rolls
  • Pasta
  • Cereal
  • Granola
  • Cookies
  • Cakes
  • Doughnuts
  • Pretzels
  • Crackers
  • Gravy
  • Soups, stews and sauces thickened with a roux
  • Hot cocoa mixes
  • Powdered mixes
  • Meatloaf
  • Meatballs
  • Crab cakes
  • Udon noodles
  • Baked beans
  • Breadcrumbs
  • Orzo
  • Some salad dressings
  • Some canned soups
  • Soy sauce
  • Beer
  • Grain liquors
  • Some flavor extracts
  • Some candy
  • Some canned or boxed stock/bullion
  • Some bottled or jarred sauces
  • Seitan
  • Miso fermented with wheat

When in doubt, don’t eat it! If there are mysterious ingredients in a food product that’s a sign that you probably shouldn’t be eating it anyway.

If you do have concerns about a food product or food at a restaurant don’t be afraid to ask. Many food manufacturers are happy to answer your question via email or phone.

When you are eating out make sure you are educated about major ingredients and are able to ask specific questions if need be.

One last helpful note: just because one brand’s food product doesn’t contain gluten, that doesn’t mean that other brands are also gluten free. One example is almond milk. Brand x is gluten free but brand y does not guarantee that it is gluten free so almond milk is not necessarily gluten free. Always read labels.




Return from foods containing gluten to current health articles